Chocolate Orange Liqueur Recipe – (Using Terry’s)

First off don’t forget OUR COMPETITION which ends at Midday GMT on Thursday (Tomorrow)

Folks who attended the Juniper Society a few months ago may remember a Cadbury’s Fruit ‘N’ Nut liqueur that I made, the recipe of which is lost to the sands of time (as I didn’t write it down!).
Those who attended this Monday’s Hendrick’s Juniper Society were “treated” to a taste of my new Chocolate Orange Liqueur.

This was inspired by our recent trip to the Diageo Archive where, in their bottle room, they had a few bottles of the now defunct Terry’s Chocolate Orange Liqueur. Inspired by the concept behind the bottle, I decided to recreate some and I am sharing the recipe with you.

TERRY’S CHOCOLATE ORANGE LIQUEUR

One Terry’s Milk Chocolate Orange
150ml Semi-skimmed Milk
150ml Double Cream
200ml Vodka (I used Iceberg as it is very clean and soft)

Melt one whole sphere of Terry Milk Chocolate Orange* in a glass bowl (I suggest using a Bain Marie and you may want to added a dash of milk whilst it is melting).
On a low heat, gradually add 150ml Semi-Skimmed Milk and 150ml Double Cream.
Remove from the heat and add the vodka. I recommend using something that is clean and smooth; I used Iceberg.

If you want a little more bitter orange, I would suggest adding a few dashes of orange bitters or orange flower water.

Once the mix has cooled, strain it through a fine sieve and then bottle and keep in the fridge.

I was doubtful of how this would turn out before I put it in the fridge, but after 12 hours of chilling, I tried it again. The result was a thick and creamy liqueur with both initial and lingering flavours of chocolate and a finish of bitter chocolate and orange. In short, it tastes a lot like Terry’s Chocolate Orange; I’m glad the other folks at the Juniper Society agreed.**

* Okay, so I say “whole”, but I actually ate two segments and that knobbly bit in the middle.
** Sadly it was so popular that I never managed to get a picture of it!

This entry was posted in Experiments & Recipes and tagged , , , by DTS. Bookmark the permalink.

About DTS

partial to a martini? to a smoke-hazed gin joint & a perfect tipple poured with the style, swank & skill of a true aficionado? …then pull up your stool to the bar, prepare to stock up your cocktail cabinet & get ready to drink it all in as we introduce you to a stitch in times’ resident barman… David T. Smith is a drinks enthusiast currently residing in the U.K. a long-time fan of tasting & exploring various types of alcohol, he has a fascination for vintage spirits and cocktails, in particular their heritage & origins; this was strengthened last year when he presented a talk and accompanying monograph on the Martini. it was as a result of his research of this topic that he was introduced to drinks paraphernalia, & he is now the happy owner of a colourful collection of bottles, books, and gadgets from a wide range of eras… an avid believer in the validity and variety of personal opinion, particularly in the subjective area of tasting, he enjoys hosting tasting sessions for friends, constantly challenging them to find their own favourite tipple. in addition to all of this, he is also interested in economics, three-piece suits, board games & keeping alive the art of engaging in enjoyable conversation with a good glass of port whilst surrounded by pipe smoke… www.summerfruitcup.com Thanks to Analiebe for writing this rather flattering blurb for me.

Leave a comment