WOW5 – Old Pulteney Scotch Whisky Liqueur

I first tried Old Pulteney Liqueur on our honeymoon to Edinburgh (also, coincidentally, where I discovered my fondness for Scotch whisky) and I enjoyed it so much that I bought a bottle. The bottle looks wonderfully warm, fiery almost; red celtic knotwork works its way across the label, bringing out the warm colour of the dark liquid behind it.

This liqueur smells distinctly like Scotch whisky, which is appropriate. In the mouth, it’s silky and syrupy; heavier than most of the other whisky liqueurs I’ve tired so far for Whispers of Whisk(e)y, and coats the mouth, helping its flavours to hang around (which I certainly didn’t mind).

The flavour profile of this liqueur certainly isn’t linear: there are intertwining flavours of Scotch and sweetness, with both seeming to take it in turns to try and capture your attention. Although it isn’t always dominant, the sweetness cannot be ignored in this one; it’s more like a sweetened whisky than any of the others that I’ve tried. The box says that it has hints of toffee and Mr. B. says honey, but – personally – I think it’s more like golden syrup or treacle. Fortunately, it’s also the liqueur that has the most dominant whisky flavours, with a good woodiness coming through at the end. In addition to all of this, it had a delicious aftertaste of cherries and berries, which reminded me of an Old Fashioned.

All-in-all, this has already become a firm favourite of mine and I’d especially recommend it to anyone who is partial to a good Scotch whilst also having a bit of a sweet tooth.

– Mrs. B

For more Whisk(e)y Liqueuer Reviews please click here

Leave a Reply

